My battle with exercise

I have a well developed habit of avoiding exercise, going back to the years when exercise could have been life-threatening for me.  I had severe asthma as a kid and as a preventive measure, I was told “don’t run, don’t get too excited, stay put….”  There were no medications or inhalers at the time and it was a common and legitimate way of managing that disease.

But now, when it’s no longer necessary, those “don’t run” messages are still with me. Exercise is the best thing I can be doing for myself at this point. Yet I still get into struggles with myself about it.

I have been in physical therapy for the past few weeks to increase my strength and balance.  At my age, there is a danger of falling and the therapy is doing wonders for me.  But this morning, I again had to fight with the old messages to get myself to get myself to go.

My commitment to life includes continuing the PT and then continuing with an 8 week program for people who have just completed PT and want to slowly start an exercise program with coaches and trainers who understand my limits.  I will continue from there.

I don’t think the old messages will ever completely leave me.  But I know where they live and I am working to replace them with new ones.  I can and will do this.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

