The Escape of the Chocoholic Cat

I know chocolate is not supposed to be good for cats, but since I am a confirmed chocoholic, there was often some around the house. I found out that my cat, Squeaky, liked it because once, I brought home a couple of yummy cupcakes covered with chocolate chips for me and my boyfriend. While we were in the kitchen getting a glass of milk, Squeaky ate all the chocolate chips from the top of the cakes. Who knew? Thank goodness, there were no ill effects.

This knowledge came in handy a few months later. I lived in an attic apartment in an old house at the time. I was taking a shower and noticed a cat face peering in the window of my bathroom from outside. It was Squeaky! I had no idea how she had gotten out there so I searched the apartment and found a small tear in the window extension on my old air conditioner. She had squeezed out of the little hole onto the roof and had made her way across to the window on the other side of the house.

The question now was how to get her back into the apartment? I called her and she came back to the other side of the roof, near the air conditioner window. I stuck my hand out of the hole and petted her. She definitely appreciated that, but she would not let me grab her to pull her back inside. I tried baiting her with cat food, a piece of meat, some cheese. She ate it, but backed away as she was eating. What to do, what to do??

Then I remembered that there was chocolate pudding in the refrigerator. I went and got some, took a spoonful and inserted it out through the hole. She lapped it up long enough for me to get a grip on a paw, and success!! Kitty back inside. I let her finish the spoonful of pudding as a reward for letting me catch her, repaired the hole as best I could and thankfully, there were no more escape incidents like that one. Phew!

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

