Ravens I Have Known

I love crows and ravens! There are a couple of magnificent ravens I have known personally. According to Wikipedia, “because of its black plumage, croaking call, and diet of carrion, the raven has long been considered a bird of ill omen and of interest to creators of myths and legends.” I think he’s gotten a bum rap!

Ravens are exceptionally intelligent. One time I was playing fiddle by myself in a California State Park. A raven was circling overhead and I swear he was trying to sing. Every time I stopped playing for a minute, he chimed in with his croaky raven voice. We made a nice concert, the two of us. I stayed there for hours.

Another special raven I knew once was one who lived at Chicago’s Lincoln Park Zoo in the 1960s. (For Chicagoans who might remember, his cage was close to the big canoe near the Zoo Rookery.) This bird had an eye for a shiny coin and would trade with me for hours. I’d give him a coin (he liked silvery dimes and quarters the best but would show interest in a shiny copper penny– otherwise I’d have gone broke!). He’d examine the coin thoroughly, cocking his head back and forth to see it with one eye at a time. Then he’d hop to the back of his big cage, place the coin in his stash, and then pick out a stick or a stone which he’d offer to me in trade. The shiniest coins would result in the most attractive stick or stone. I wish I had saved them.

Unfortunately, I haven’t seen a raven in a long time. I miss them.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Bird, Crow, Intelligent Bird, Raven, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ravens I Have Known

  1. Pingback: In the presence « Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

