The Birdie in the Sink

I am just settling my breathing down to normal. A bird got in our laundry room, probably through a vent. We had noticed that the cats were sitting very close to the laundry room door and paying rapt attention to the laundry room, which they usually do not do. My sister was more afraid to open the door than I was, so I opened it and a bird fluttered out. It flew around the house for a while and then into my sister’s bathroom. One of the cats, leaped into the sink, crashed against the bathroom mirror, landed in the sink on top of the bird and caught it. He then paraded haughtily through the house, wanting to get back in my sister’s bedroom to show her his prize. The bird fluttered weakly. I went out and knocked on all the apartment doors in the building to ask for help and nobody was home. We called Animal Control and nobody answered. The police do not come out to get birds out of the cat’s mouth. The cat sat there for a long while, while the other cat watched and hissed at him, probably wanting a bite. We eventually found a service that would come and get the bird for $95.00, but by that time, there were only feathers all over the living room and a bird head under the coffee table. We cancelled the emergency service, I used three plastic bags on my hand, picked up the leavings, marched to the garage and put it in the trash, and that was that. Results: Cats are very relaxed, coming into the bathroom to check for birds every once in a while. There are still feathers in the sink. there are still feathers all over the living room. I was in the process of eating a chicken sandwich when this all started, and I am no longer hungry. My sister is no longer freaked. All is well.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

