The exercise saga Part 4,354,941

OK, that’s about how many times I’ve tried to get started with an exercise program. And that’s how many times I have started and stopped, or not started at all. I even joined a health club once during the days when they would get you to sign a contract for 2 years that you couldn’t get out of. Do they still do that? I paid for 2 years and only went once. I signed up for exercise classes at the Y; I bought DVD programs; I’ve had an exercise partner that was motivated to go walking every day — I poohed out after the first day.

The real problem is that it hurts! I am in the process of losing weight. Yes! It is working. My sister has been cooking healthy food for me since I moved in and I have lost some weight without having to think about it. I want to start exercising. I live right on the edge of the woods. Deer come to nibble on the trees right outside my window. It’s a wonderful place to walk. But it hurts me to walk very far. I had one hip replaced about 15 years ago and a knee replaced about 6 years ago. One leg is shorter than the other. I limp. My back hurts. I’ve been to physical therapy numerous times and it usually helps. Since I moved to a new area, my excuse is now “I don’t know anybody to go to.” Really flimsy excuse, eh?

It’s really that I’m afraid I will start and then not follow through again and that breaks my heart every time I do it. Once I have gotten the courage to go through the pain and get started, it’s wasted effort if I quit, so I just don’t start. What I really want to do is to get back on a horse. I’m 69 years old and don’t know if that’s a good idea or not, with me being in a not very strong physical shape. I keep thinking maybe riding will strengthen my muscles and give me something to work toward. It’s the only sport I ever loved and I was pretty good at it. I’ve found a place near where I live now where they have horses that would be appropriate for my weight and size, and will take into account any disabilities or infirmities when you start lessons. I really want to do that.

I even ordered some boots and they came yesterday. They are a perfect fit. I could do it. But I’m scared to start.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

