The Cat who DOESN’T Like Viola Music

My sister doesn’t like it when I practice my viola. She says it gives her a headache when I repeat passages over and over again. Today, she went out shopping so I quickly got out my viola, tuned up and started practicing.

Every time I’ve practiced before, one of the cats (Stella) has been paying a lot of attention to me, rubbing my legs and meowing like crazy while I play. I took that to be a symbol that she likes viola music. My sister says it’s probably because she doesn’t like it, but I thought my sister was projecting.

Today,I was practicing that first movement of the “Merrymount Suite” by Howard Hansen. It has a lot of enharmonics (non-musicians, look it up) that are hard to play in tune. Stella rubbed and rubbed my legs and then started licking them. And THEN, she bit the crap out of me three times — twice in the right leg and once in the left arm. I couldn’t find the water sprayer we use to keep the cats from darting out the doors so I got a cup of water and yelled NO and sprinkled water in her face every time she came near me. She still kept approaching me and I could only practice for about 15 minutes because of having to sprinkle water on her every minute or so.

Sheesh! At least she didn’t break the skin this time. When I first moved in, she bit me and left big fang marks. But lately, we have become friends, and she even lets me brush her, something she would never let my sister do. Maybe she doesn’t like the brushing after all and is getting back to me. Or she just plain doesn’t like the viola. Oh shoot, now I have to figure out ways to keep from being attacked by cats when I practice. What weirdness is next in my life?

From now, I will practice in my bedroom with the door closed.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

