The Embarrassing Blizzard of April 2, 1974

The talk of a blizzard that is supposed to happen in the next couple of days reminds me of another blizzard I experienced. I am pretty sure the date was April 2nd, 1974 (my sister’s birthday), but I can’t find any information on the web about it so maybe it was another day.

It snowed furiously and the winds blew and the snow drifted higher and higher. It took me around 11 hours to drive home from where I worked at Madison and Cicero in Chicago to where I lived in Evanston. For most of the drive, I was unable to move with all the cars stuck in front of me. But I had a brand new car with great tires so I was able to slalom around a lot of the cars that were stuck in the snow. Eventually, most of the the main streets were totally blocked so decided to try some side streets (good choice, eh?).

After several hours, I had to pee and there was no place around except for a little Mexican grocery store. I left the car where it was in the middle of the street (everybody was stuck in front of me so nobody was going anywhere soon) got out of the car, trudged through the snow and walked into the store. Nobody spoke English and I spoke no Spanish. I had to pantomime my need (I still blush when I think of it). I guess the storekeeper had a strange sense of humor because he said “oh, si, si” and pointed me toward a door. I opened it and the snow started blowing in. He and his cohorts had a good laugh, then pointed me to the real bathroom… that had no lock on the door.

I went in there, started my business and all of a sudden, the door opened and the same man peered in and said “oh, scuse me! scuse me!” I could hear him laughing as he closed the door, and since I had no choice, I continued my mission.

He did it again! After several minutes of frozen terror, I finally was able to relax enough to finish what I had to do (I think I had my foot holding the door shut by this time — not easy to do!). I got the hell out of there, plowed myself through the snowdrifts back to the car and breathed a sigh of relief! What a memory!

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Embarrassing Blizzard of April 2, 1974

  1. Candi says:

    No you are not Crazy and it was April 2 1974 i also remember it because it also happens to be the day my Brother was born and we Live in Franklin Park Ill my dad was a snow plow driver he had to take mom to the hospital in it because there was just no other way

Leave a Reply

