Point of View Trumps “Fact”

Pretend that a group of us are all sitting in a circle. There is a large cup in the middle of the circle. One half of the cup is painted blue. The other half is painted yellow.

From where I sit in the circle, I can only see the yellow side of the cup, so I say “that cup is yellow.” You are sitting across the circle from me and you say, “no it’s not, that cup is blue!” Somebody sitting halfway between the two of us, says, “you’re both wrong. That cup is half yellow and half blue.” I argue my point. You argue your point. The third guy thinks we are both crazy because he can see both colors and doesn’t understand what we are talking about. All three of us get angrier and angrier and the argument gets louder and louder.

In the real world, the argument might get so violent that one of us shoots the other. I consider this a metaphor for what is happening right now. My point is…. every argument and disagreement begins out of our point of view — from where we are sitting in the circle. The Republicans cannot see the Democrats’ side of the cup and vice versa. The Israeli Jews cannot see the Palestinian Muslims’ side of the cup and vice versa. Anybody who can see both sides has a very difficult time being heard.

It seems to me that what all of us need to do is to listen and perhaps to study each others’ point of view. Maybe once we have seen both sides of the problem, we can come to logical and peaceful solutions.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Argument, Mediation, Peaceful Solution, Point of View, Seeing both sides, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

