Submarines Invaded Montrose Beach Yesterday

I swear I wasn’t on anything. I don’t take drugs or drink.

It started while I was looking out the window at Lake Michigan (I live on the 14th floor of a building overlooking Foster Avenue Beach in Chicago.) As I watched, I noticed these little white boats heading in towards the beach and wondered what they were all doing there in this ice-cold January weather. Could it have been some kind of winter boat race? I looked along the shore, and although I didn’t see any people there, it appeared that many of the little white boats had been pulled up on the beach and were lined up in a row. I wondered how they were all docked there so well when they were so close together. You’d think they might have crashed together.

I watched for a long time. The boats kept appearing in groups of 5 or 6 at a time. The strange thing is that they were not coming around the long pier at Montrose directly from the Lake. It looked like they were coming from UNDER the pier. One boat would pop up, and then another, then another, etc. This is how I knew they must be submarines, because regular little boats couldn’t come from under the pier, could they?

I looked at the Lake near Foster Avenue Beach and there were no boats there. As a matter of fact, the lake is pretty well frozen over. I could see a few waves at times, in spots where the ice had cracked.

And then it occurred to me that maybe the little submarines could have been waves. They froze when they landed on the beach. That’s what made it look like a lineup of little boats.

I’m not crazy or stoned, honestly. I really saw the little white submarines, but I have decided that maybe they could have been waves all the time. Our brains are very interesting, do you think?

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

