A Hellish Experience at Disneyland

I love Disneyland, and I love Disney World even more. They are the best get-away-from-it-all vacations I can think of. Those places are not only fun and entertaining, the staff is spectacular! The secret seems to be is that every single employee is highly trained to take extremely good care of the customers. Bottom line, they are all paid to be nice to us. Heaven!

But one time, at Disneyland, I had a horrible experience. I went on the “It’s a Small World Ride.” For those of you who have never experienced that, you ride in a little boat through room after room of dancing and singing dolls, all singing the same song. In the room where the dolls have Chinese costumes, they sing the song in Chinese. When the boat travels through the Holland room, the dolls sing it in Dutch. I can stand it for 10 minutes or so it takes to go through the ride, but I frankly need at least 10 years between visits in order to get in one of those boats again. That’s how long it takes to get the song out of my head.

That particular day, the ride broke. The boats stalled in the water. The dolls kept singing.. and singing.. and singing… We thought of trying to get out of the boat and walk through the water to the exit, But then, we wondered whether we might get an electric shock from a short in the machinery and we stayed. We were stuck.

It took 45 minutes for them to fix the ride. Everybody complained loudly to the people in adjoining boats. After a while, I just closed my eyes, put my fingers in my ears and prayed to the gods of Disney to please get me out of there.

There’s no way to properly share the experience unless you were there, but suffice it to say, IT WAS HELL! To this day, I can’t hear the song without putting my fingers in my ears. Unfortunately, in a symphonic pops concert, I once had to play a Disney medley including a version of that song. When you are playing viola, you can’t put your fingers in your ears. I quietly sobbed a little, but got through the concert.

I pray that it never, ever happens to you.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Disney Music, Disneyland, Getting a song out of your head, It's A Small World Ride, Uncategorized, Walt Disney World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Hellish Experience at Disneyland

  1. sandyjasmine says:

    Oy, I thought this was gonna be about B.G. 😉 Hahahah, glad it was the small world story.

Leave a Reply

