How do you get yourself to exercise?

My sister loves to exercise.  She says it makes her feel good afterward.  She can feel the endorphins working in her body and they make her happy.

I understand that exercise will prolong my life if I do it.  Supposedly I will feel better.  It’s been proven to be the best way to prevent some illnesses.  It’s definitely recommended for losing weight and promoting a healthy, toned body.

But I don’t enjoy exercising at all.  I don’t feel the endorphins. It hurts.  It makes me tired and grumpy.

Why is it that people who are addicted to alcohol can look at pictures of their livers disintegrating and that doesn’t motivate them to stop drinking?  And what about smokers who can look at pictures of lungs blackened and rotted by years of smoking and not be motivated to stop?  I personally can look at all the evidence of the results of not exercising and I still can’t get myself to do it.

I thought of one motivation that might work.  I used to love riding horses.  At this point, I’m too heavy and out of shape to get on anything but an elephant.  I wouldn’t do it to a horse at my size.  But that’s what I want to do.

Riding a horse again is the only reason I can think of to motivate myself to exercise and get into shape.  Maybe that will work.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in alcoholism, drinking, endorphins, exercise, hating exercise, motivation, smoking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How do you get yourself to exercise?

  1. Vicki says:

    I can relate to this, Lynne. Only instead of riding a horse, I’d like to dance again. Perhaps this will motivate me. I took a sedentary job 15 years ago and as my activity seriously decreased, my weight went up. I am becoming seriously concerned about my range of motion as the greater my weight, the less I move.

    I love the web site 43things.com. One picks goals (the goals are typically shared by many) and writes about them. We cheer each other on. Can’t say I’ve achieved anything wonderful as a result, but I enjoy the blogging.

    I enjoy your blog, too. I’ll be back. (only right now I really must get on w/ my tasks – I find myself procrastinating, another entry of yours I enjoyed)

Leave a Reply

