It’s so easy to believe the unbelievable

It is always difficult to admit how easily I can be sucked into a scam and believe the unbelievable.  I need to fess up now and acknowledge that I have enjoyed watching “Survivor” since it started.  For many years, I’ve seen episodes where fires burned down the campsites and supplies were washed away in flash floods. How could I have not perceived that while these things were happening, the camera operators stood merrily by, taking the best shots?  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that it is extremely STUPID to think of stacking wooden crates around the fire to keep the fire burning in a rainstorm.  A fourth grader would have known that you don’t put your campsite in the middle of a dry river bed because it will definitely be washed away during the next flash flood.  Where is my mind?  Why do I believe this sh*t without thinking?  Note to Lynnie:  Remember “THE TRUMAN SHOW”.  I am living on the same set.  More about this later (think product placement).

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Survivor, The Truman Show, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s so easy to believe the unbelievable

  1. Sissy says:

    What happened? Something on Survivor? A certain somebody taught me that there is a sucker born every minute. And I am one of them.

    • feistylynnie says:

      It was going to rain so to “protect” the fire from going out, they surrounded it with wooden crates and pushed them right next to the fire, while telling each other what a good idea that was. I was shouting at the TV “you are SO stupid — push wooden crates right next to the fire? What do you think will happen?” Of course, the crates caught on fire and burned down the campsite, including all their food. Of course, it was all filmed and nicely edited, and there were wonderful shots of the survivors saying “oh my god! oh my god! oh my god!” when they came back to camp. That’s when I turned it off and deleted it forever from my DVR listing. They did the same thing a couple of years ago and I realized even then that if the camera operators were standing there shooting the film of the fire, why didn’t they put it out? Because it’s good TV, you think, and we stupid people will keep watching? You can bet on it. I forgave them, then as the dialogue got more and more boring, I started to fast forward through a lot of the show, but I still watched the ending to see who got voted off. And I still went back and watched parts of the episodes to see what the person had done and what the lie of the week was. Why did I keep watching? I didn’t even like it!!

  2. Sissy says:

    I totally get what you are saying!

Leave a Reply

