Appearance and Class-Based Discrimination

It happens in Australia, in China, in European countries and most of all, in our own U.S. of A.  Since the 1970’s, the political correctness police have successfully begun to bring attention to the cruelty caused by racism, homophobia and sexism.  Alcoholism, smoking and drug abuse are for the most part considered to stem from a disease, or at least a disorder.  These days, there are not as many drunk jokes as there were when I was growing up.

So why is it that people still laugh and make cruel jokes about people who are obese?  Why are there horribly discriminatory comments on  pictures of fat women found to be so hilarious?  Today, people I know and love posted a link to this site http://www.peopleofwalmart.com accompanied by such derogatory comments, it brought tears to my eyes.

Why are people who are overweight treated with such disdain and even hatred?  I think I  know enough about people to understand that hatred, teasing, blame, bullying, harassing and discrimination will always find a way.  Of course, I want it to stop.  Of course it hurts to see and hear these jokes.

Of course, I feel helpless to stop it.  All I can do is bring it up again and sigh.  I don’t feel ashamed of the way I am.  I can only hope that the people who post these things and continue this hateful discrimination do feel ashamed.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

