Last Minute Lynnie

I often leave tasks to do until the last minute.   I am a procrastinator.  Here’s the Dictionary.com definition of procrastinate:  “To defer action; delay: …until an opportunity is lost….”  (I feel sad about this.)

I researched the problem on the net.  An article by Hara Estroff Marano in PSYCHOLOGY TODAY, (http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200308/procrastination-ten-things-know” August 23, 2003. ) states “There are many ways to avoid success in life… Procrastinators sabotage themselves. They put obstacles in their own path. They actually choose paths that hurt their performance.”  (I feel sadder.)

And, “Procrastination … is one response to an authoritarian parenting style. Having a harsh, controlling father keeps children from developing the ability to regulate themselves, from internalizing their own intentions and then learning to act on them. Procrastination can even be a form of rebellion, one of the few forms available under such circumstances….” (My mother was the more pushy one in our family.  The above makes a lot of sense to me.)

More of the article:  “Procrastinators can change their behavior—but doing so consumes a lot of psychic energy. And it doesn’t necessarily mean one feels transformed internally…”  (I feel even sadder and more frustrated.)

According to EZINE article “Why do people procrastinate?” (http://ezinearticles.com/Why-Do-People-Procrastinate?&id=1028572) there are three major motivators for Procrastination:  Perfectionism, Anger and Negative Thinking.   Three of their solutions are “Take Small Steps”, “Positive Mindset” and “…do not procrastinate dealing with your procrastination problem.”  (no kidding!) The article also led me to several more “solutions” they could sell me costing $9.95 to $17.95.  (Now I’m angry, frustrated and sad.)

So, what I’ve found out so far is that there are thousands of articles and solutions to solving this problem.  The major question is which solution will I choose?  How will I resolve this problem?

I’ll think more about it tomorrow.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in bullying, overweight, procrastination, teasing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

