The New Guy at WGN AM Radio

Oh No!  I am losing my favorite radio station.  I woke up to the new guy, Mike McConnell at WGN blathering away on my radio this morning.  I will admit that this is the first time I have listened to him and it was only for a few minutes.  That’s all my stomach could handle.  It will be the last time.

He was talking with a caller who said that his son had been suicidal and if there had been a handgun in the house, he would now be dead.  McConnell said something like (this is not a quote — I’m paraphrasing from what I heard in my first-thing-in-the-morning state) ‘having a firearm is a God-given right and no man has the right to deny me that right.’

To be fair, I should listen to the podcast to hear his entire point of view.  I should give the guy a chance.  But I was so turned off by that one statement, I don’t want to.  God gave him the right to bear arms?  I think he meant the U.S. Constitution and I could have listened to more of that.  It’s true, whether I agree with the context or not.  But he said “God” gave him the right and I don’t know how he knows that.  It’s not even in the bible and anyone who has read my previous rants knows how I feel about people believing literally in a 2000 year old book that has been translated and re-translated many times.

The only people left on WGN that I still like are Gary Meier,  Brian Noonan and John Williams because they are funny and entertaining (though I think John is probably next to go) Nick DiGilio, because he’s always true to himself, Milt Rosenberg because of his varied and intelligent programming, and Steve and Johnnie because of their kindness and authenticity; they are careful to check their facts,  and they provide a variety of music and useful knowledge.  I’m fickle about the Cubs but love Pat and Ron, and to me, hockey is not interesting on the radio.

My current answer is to tune to WCPT at 820 AM during the day and WGN at night because they haven’t yet besmirched their night-time programming.  What will become of that station that used to be as warm and comfortable as a member of the family but is now trying to turn into the dreaded Fox News or Rush or Glen Beck.  I usually think of myself as fair-minded, but yes, this is not fair of me.  I admit it is a one-sided, opinionated rant — the other side of what my used-to-be favorite radio station is becoming.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in belief, bible, Constitution, contrarian, firearms, Fox News, Glen Beck, God-given right, gun, gun control, laws, Mike McConnell, Rush Limbaugh, skeptic, Steve and Johnnie, suicide, WCPT, WGN and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

