Proof of Faith?

I recently posted a rant on faith and the bible entitled “Were the Biblical Prophets Schizophrenic?”  I was inspired to write it because of  the current debate over the rescinding of California’s Proposition 8 and the desire of some religious zealots to immediately impeach the federal judge who made the ruling. Some people are making decisions about that based on that 2000 year old book I spoke of — of course, picking and choosing what tidbits to believe and what to deny. I can’t for the life of me understand why the parts about “loving thy neighbor…” are ignored while the parts about “If a man lies with a man as one lies with a woman… they must be put to death…” are believed literally. Who wrote that statement anyway? Was it a schizophrenic guy from a halfway house? That was my underlying point.

I want to be clear that this rant applies to all the writings of all religions, not just the Judeo-Christian bible.  Because of the horrible events of 9-11, many citizens of ours and other western countries consider believers of Islam to be cruel, insensitive members of primitive desert tribes, stuck in the old ways of their ancestors.  But I’ve also met and played mid-eastern music with some Muslims and have good friends who are Bosnian Muslims.   They are as peaceable as I consider myself to be.

I decided to look up “Islam” on the internet for the heck of it to see if I could learn anything.  The first item I came to was a video on how to prove that the Koran is truth.  There is a link to the video at the bottom of this post.  The “teacher”  started out by explaining what proof is.  His example was that if somebody came to your house to read the electric meter and he was wearing an electric company uniform and had an i.d. card, that would be enough proof to let him in.  On the other hand, if he were wearing a leather jacket and had tattoos and long hair, you would then have proof that he wasn’t from the electric company and you would not let him in your house because he would probably steal from you.

How full of holes is that explanation?  All we have to do is watch some “Law and Order” episodes to know that one of the easiest ways to con someone into letting you in might be to dress as a legitimate guy from the electric company.

Ahhh people!  I don’t know for whom that website was meant, but under his definition, that video could be my proof that he was a schizophrenic guy from a halfway house because he looked weird to me and he was teaching how to prove religious faith.  Proof enough, right?  Only that the insanity goes across the board.

About feistylynnie

I am a closet explorer of the weird, unusual and extraordinary sides of life, masquerading as a normal person. I play viola and violin in many styles including classical, blues, folk and disco. I am also a horse, donkey, cat and dog lover and total geek.
This entry was posted in belief, bible, faith, Islam, Judeo-Christian, Koran, Muslim, pacifist, Proof, Proposition 8, religion, spiritual, weird. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

